The 2019 Middlesbrough Championships

Ormesby’s David Gofton won the triple crown in the Middlesbrough Table Tennis Championships that took place at the Ormesby Club on Sunday.

David Gofton 13..03.19

Alan Ransome Middlesbrough League Chairman and David Gofton 

In the Open Men’s Singles, Gofton won the title by beating Luke Robinson with a comfortable 3-0 in the final. Gofton’s toughest match was against the Durham County veteran John Crawford in the semi-final.  Crawford won the first game at
15-13 and came close at 13-11 and 11-8 in the third and fourth before the Ormesby Juniors had the greater power and made the difference. 

Gofton’s second title came in the Division 1 Single’s where he beat David Pashley in three straight games and Ben Savage by 3 games to 1 in the Round Robin Final.

The Open Doubles was the third title for Gofton, when he partnered George Hill winning the final against Robinson and Savage by 3 games to 1.

The Division 2 Single’s title was won by a newcomer to the League, William Lim of Ormesby, who defeated the Beaumont veteran Bruce Lowther in the Final.  Lim was a comfortable winner by 3 games to 0.

Robinson who reached the Final of the Open Singles, won the Junior event beating Savage by 3-1 in the Final.  This was a closer match than the score line suggests with Robinson winning the third and fourth games by very close margins.

The Cadet Singles events was dominated by the Ormesby Girls Squad, with Katie Bates winning the title in a very close contest with Rebecca Savage.  Bates won by 3-2 with the final game being 11-6.  Bates came through to the Final with a victory against Eve Witterick.

The Under 12 Singles winner was Tim James, who beat one of his Ormesby Hopes team mates Tom Wardell in straight games in the final.  James beat Ella Pashley also in straight games in the Semi-final.

The Handicap Singles was won by Rebecca Savage.  In the Final, Savage beat Wardell after two close games.  Savage beat Mike Howling in the Semi Final whilst Wardell defeated Ella Pashley.

The Veteran Over 40 Singles was won by John Crawford who beat David Pashley in the Semi-Final by 3 games to 1.  In the round Robin Final, Crawford also beat Michael Young by 3-1.

The Over 60 Handicaps was won by John Daley who beat Nick Miller in the Final after two close games.

The Wheelchair event which was a Round Robin event was won by Noel Thomas and Marc Bonnar second. 
The Hard Bat competition was won by Michael Young with Nicky Corking in second place.

Open Singles

David Gofton beat Luke Robinson  11-5, 11-1, 11-4 

Open Doubles

David Gofton/George Hill beat Luke Robinsons/Ben Savage 3-11, 11-8, 11-8, 11-8 

Division One

David Gofton beat Ben Savage 7-11, 11-2, 11-6, 11-3 

Division Two

William Lim beat Bruce Lowther 11-1, 11-5, 11-1 

Junior Singles

Luke Robinson beat Ben Savage 11-5, 7-11, 11-9, 11-8 

Cadet Singles

Katie Bates beat Rebecca Savage  8-11, 11-7, 11-9, 9-11, 11-6 

Under 12 Singles

Tim James best Tom Wardell 11-7, 11-8, 11-5 

60+ Handicap

John Daley beat Nick Miller 21-11, 21-20 

Open Wheelchair

Noel Thomas beat Mark Bonner 11-8, 7-11, 8-11, 12-10, 11-3                  

Hard Bat

Michael Young beat Nick Corking 31-26 

Handicap Singles

Rebecca Savage beat Tom Wardell  21-20, 21-17




Chris Edwards - Winner of the 2018 Open Singles Title  

Mid 2018 Open SIngles Wnr C Edwards



Open Singles Winner:

Chris Edwards was presented with his prize money by Middlesbrough League Chairman Alan Ransome

Ormesby junior, Chris Edwards, won 3 titles, including the Open Singles title, in the Middlesbrough Table Tennis Championships which were played at Ormesby on Sunday 14 May, beating Ryan Nassau by 3 games to 1 in the final and Michael Young by 11-9 in the 5th games in the semi final.

This was a very good performance by Chris who plays in the team immediately below his two opponents in the Ormesby British League teams.

Ryan Nassau had a very close match in the semi final to beat David Pashley 11-5 in the decider.


Mid 2018 Doubles winners


Open Doubles winners:

 Ryan Nassau on the left with Alan Ransome and Chris Edwards

Chris Edwards won his second title in the Open Doubles when he combined with Ryan Nassau to beat Michael Young and Gary Whyman by 3-1 in the final and the Webster brothers, Phil and Tommy, by the same score in the semi.

Edwards’ third title came in the Handicap Singles when he scored a very narrow victory over Olly Flight who enjoyed a large handicap start. Olly won the first game 21-17 before Edwards recovered to win the second 21-19 and the decider at 21-20.

The Division 1 Singles title was won by Michael Young who scored a very narrow victory 11-9 in the 5th, over Ryan Nassau. Michael Young beat David Pashley 3-0 in the semi. The Open Singles winner, Edwards, failed to qualify from his group, losing a countback with Michael Young and Ryan Nassau.

Mid 2018 Diiv 2 winner

Division Two winner       

Kashif Mahmood

The Division 2 title was won by Swerve’s Kashif Mahmood who beat Beaumont Accountancy Nomad’s Bruce Lowther 3-0 in the final.

Michael Young won his second title, the Veterans Singles, scoring a comfortable victory over Swerve’s Jemal Mohammed in straight games in the final.

Mid 2018 Over 60 Winners


60+ Event players left to right:

Nick Miller (semi finalist), Barry Pearson (event sponsor), Tommy Webster (60+ winner) and Paul Moppett (runner up). Eric Smallwood, not pictured, was the other semi finalist. 

The Over 60 Handicap was won by Tommy Webster who beat Paul Moppett after the match was tied after 3 games. Webster won the one point decider.The Wheelchair Singles was won by Mark Bonnar who beat Brian Holloway in the final match.

The Hard Bat competition produced a third title for Michael Young with Nunthorpe’s David Pashley in second place.


Open Singles

Winner - Chris Edwards (Ormesby) 11-9, 9-11, 11-9, 11-8

Runner up - Ryan Nassau (Ormesby)

Open Doubles

Winners - Chris Edwards/Ryan Nassau (Ormesby) 11-13, 11-6, 11-7, 11-6

Runners up - Gary Whyman/Michael Young (Ormesby)

Handicap Singles

Winner -  Chrissie Edwards (Ormesby) 17-21, 21-19, 21-20

Runner up - Olly Flight (Ormesby)

Division 1

Winner - Michael Young (Ormesby) 11-8, 11-4, 6-11, 5-11, 11-9

Runner up - Ryan Nassau (Ormesby)

Division 2

Winner - Kashif Mahmood (Swerve) 11-8, 11-9, 11-7

Runner up - Bruce Lowther (Beaumont Accountancy Nomads)

Veterans Singles

Winner - Michael Young (Ormesby) 11-6, 11-7, 11-7

Runner up - Jemal Mohammed (Swerve)

Over 60’s Handicap

Winner - Tommy Webster (Nunthorpe) 17-21, 21-17, 38-38 (+ 1 extra point)

Runner up - Paul Moppett (Ormesby)


Winner - Mark Bonnar (Ormesby) 17-5, 14-12, 11-4

Runner up - Brian Holloway (Ormesby)

Hard Bat

Winner - Michael Young (Ormesby) 31-28

Runner up - David Pashley (Nunthorpe)


Last Updated:
Share This Page