BUDEHAVEN B were finally crowned as champions of Division Two in the  
North Cornwall Table Tennis League last Thursday night after a  
thrilling 6-4 victory at nearest challengers Whitstone Wanderers.
The visitors required just three points to take the title but looked  
in danger of having to wait as they found themselves 4-2 down.
However, a brilliant response saw them take the doubles and then the  
last round of singles to take it 6-4.
For Budehaven, skipper David Sillifant won all three of his outings as  
well as in the doubles with Ashley Taylor, while Taylor and Nathan  
Jukes picked up a win apiece.
For Whitstone, Doug Genini contributed two points with Barry Stearman  
and Rob Woodhouse winning one each.
There were two other matches last week in Division Two, with  
comfortable victories for Launceston and Altarnun.
The town side won 8-2 at home to North Hill B with Stephen Parsons and  
Karen Horrell enjoying perfect evenings, although Horrell showed her  
battling qualities to come back from 2-1 down against both Trevor  
Luckhurst and Mike Kinger, while they also won a thriller in the  
Lois Atkin picked up a rare win for Launceston but was beaten by both  
Luckhurst and Dave Aplin.
Altarnun cemented fifth place in the table with a 7-3 victory at  
Bridgerule A.
With skipper Paul Burden not playing, the trio of Alex Whitfield,  
Simon Holmes and Geoff Hale all beat Jay Brewer and Ray Bewes but were  
defeated by Alan Quilter who remarkably is the only Bridgerule player  
to register a point.
However, Brewer will be left gutted as Holmes fought back to take the  
last two games 11-9 and snatch victory.
In Division One, Helland A require six points from their final fixture  
at nearest challengers North Hill A tonight to take the title.
While they were easing to a 9-1 success at Crackington A, North Hill  
lost 6-4 at home to Budehaven A, who gave a debut to Keith Bradshaw  
from Sheffield, who was unbeaten in the singles.
Dave Salisbury also beat Shirley Luckhurst and Martin Hynes with Helen  
Murgatroyd also getting the better of the Hynes to secure victory.
For the home side, Bob Thompson picked up a brace of victories in the  
singles with Luckhurst beating Murgatroyd as well as combining to win  
the doubles.
At Crackington, it was a much more comfortable night for Helland.
The visiting trio of Ingus Abolnieks, Ritchie Bartlett and Mike Fisher  
all had no trouble in easing past Ross Wilmshurst and Judith Cook but  
found Frank Barnes a much tougher proposition.
Fresh off winning Class One of the David Viggers tournament at  
Budehaven, Barnes pushed each of his opponents to deciders but could  
only beat Fisher as Abolnieks gained a measure of revenge for his  
sudden-death defeat four days previously.
As things stand, Helland are 25 points ahead with North Hill having  
two games in-hand.
North Hill travelled to Torridge last night knowing they needed to win  
handsomely to give themselves a chance.
In Division Three there were just two matches.
With the title already decided, the main focus was to see who would  
finish bottom out of North Hill C and Budehaven F as they clashed at  
North Hill Village Hall.
The visitors needed a big win to put the pressure on; and although  
they won 3-2 there is still a four-point gap heading into the final  
Ezra Jukes won both of his outings with his uncle, Andrew, grabbing  
their other point.
The home side’s tally was boosted by Jill Diggory and a win in the  
Crackington C edged out Budehaven D 3-2 in another close contest.
Cayden Gill continued his excellent form for the visitors but Simon  
Patterson and Trevor Dean both beat John Gillin and then combined to  
win the doubles.
The only other match in the week saw Budehaven E advance into the  
quarter-finals of the Handicap Cup with a 6-0 victory over North Hill B.
They’re scheduled to take on fellow Division Three club Crackington C  
in the last eight later while Division One Budehaven A are also in  
action tonight as they welcome mid-table Altarnun from the second-tier.
Author: via North Cornwall Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page