Newspaper Article W/c 16th January 2012


Oldham Table Tennis League Report for Handicap Cups – Round 1


Division 4.

Ken Dunkerley of Honeywell E was the biggest winner of the round in all divisions amassing an amazing 78 points in his team’s win against their G team. He had to play well as they were conceding a 152 points start and backed by gains from Pete Ganley (48) and Brian Hall (35) they went on to win by 34 points.

The Honeywell F team of Alan Wynn (22), Derek Naylor (15) and John Rutland (10) beat Coldhurst D, turning what was a close game upto the final doubles into a 22 points win.


Division 1

Werneth A put in a good team performance overturning a 113 points handicap deficit against Rosehill to win by 22 points. Darryl Meredith gained 69 points, Stuart Meredith 55 points and Jon DePledge 28 points.

Last years beaten finalist Hollinwood B progressed at the expense of  league leaders Glodwick A . Their 114 point start was plenty as they won by 53 points with decent performances from Paul King (-14), Matty Evans (-18) and Nathan Buckley (-29).


Division 2.

Round 1 drew together last seasons finalists and it was Hyde YMCA B who were able to exact some revenge beating Unison A by 22 points. Unison’s team of Mike Brierley, Alan Auxilly and Andy Hey all clawed back similar amounts of points but the star man was Hyde YM’s Dennis Bradshaw who gained 7 points to add to their 101 points start.

Hollinwood D beat leaders Hyde YMCA A  by 15 points courtesy of an 130 points start. Steve Hathaway (-33) Joe Redikin (-34) and Paul Hutchinson (-46) held on against Lionel Royle (47) Geoff Ogden (40) and Ken Ward (26).


Division 3.

Last seasons cup winners Grotton B , armed with a 54 points start won by 26 points against Unison B. Unison’s Dave Wild (20) and Adrian Borrel (48) played well but it was Grotton’s Steve smith, gaining 21 points that swung the balance.

Hollinwood E conceding an 11 points start to Owls A gained 26 points to win by 15 points.

After the singles Hollinwood were just 1 point behind and the result hinged on the doubles which Hollinwood’s pairing of John Foster and Steve Evans won by 16 points against Richard Tamworth and Colin Ogden.

Werneth D gave their E team a 44 points start and went on to win by 44 points. Colin Pellowe and Richard Hinchliffe both gained 41 points each whilst Paul Whyatt gained 9 points. Matthew Kelly played well for the E team gaining 3 points.

Ian Cockcroft starred for Deaf A gaining 62 points in their win at Coldhurst B who had a 90 point start. Further gains by Liaqat Ali (45) and Dave Varney (26) saw them through by 57 points.


Division 5.

Coldhurst E , with a 55 points start actually gained 7 points against Our Lady’s B to win by 62 points. Frank Corlett (10) Derek Taylor (3) and John Greenwood (-3) were always in control despite a good performance from Lewis Toal who gained 16 points for Our Lady’s.

Gains by Debbie Robinson (61) and Rob Ainsworth (27) was enough to give Pollards A a 29 points victory against Deaf C , having conceded a 41 start. Scott Fleming gained 5 points for Deaf to no avail.

Last Updated:
Share This Page