Awards Presentation Evening 2016

The RDTTA 2016 Presentation Evening was held on 3rd May at the Curzon Club.

The evening was hosted by Paul Treadgold with trophies presented by RDTTA President John Freeman.

Trophies were presented to members of those teams that won or were runners-up in each of the Divisions for the 2015/16 season, also to the event winners from the 2016 Reading Closed Championships and to winners and runners-up for each of the Special Competitions run throughout the season. (see the relevant pages on the website for details of these)

Unfortunately, some teams did not send a representative & some individuals were not present to collect their trophies. These trophies can be collected at our AGM on Wed. 1st June at OLOP.

In addition, the following Awards were presented:

Reading Chronicle Trophy

- presented to the person who in the opinion of the organisers and the RDTTA committee produced the best performance at the Closed Championships.

This person won 3 titles during the course of the Championships..

Winner: Felix Thomis

Evening Post Trophy

- awarded to the person who in the opinion of the RDTTA Committee has been the Most Supportive Junior.

Winner: Jim McAllister

John Freeman Trophy

- awarded to the player with the best playing record in the main divisions of the Reading League. It must be someone who has played at least 75% of available matches.

With a win percentage of 98.11% having won 52 out of 53 contests and a major part of Kingfisher J's Division 3 title win ..

Winner: David Joyce

Standard Cup

- awarded to the person who in the opinion of the RDTTA Committee is the most improved Junior.

Several names were considered but it was felt the improvement shown was  unsurpassed..

Winner: Felix Thomis

Edelston Cup

- awarded for the best Junior performance.

Winner: Joe Barraclough

Alan Dines Memorial Trophy (presented by Alan's son, Kevin)

- awarded to the person the RDTTA Committee decides has made the best contribution to junior development.

For his consistent help & support at Tilehurst Methodist junior coaching sessions over a considerable number of years..

Winner: Mal Collis

Harold Larcombe Sportsmanship Award

- awarded to the person who, in the opinion of their peers, has shown an excellent sporting demeanour at all times both on & off the table.

The unanimous decision of the RDTTA Committee was for a person who has shown these attributes over many years..

Winner: Derek Maltby

Author: via Reading & District Table Tennis Association
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page