Awards Presentation Evening 2018

The RDTTA 2018 Presentation Evening was held on 1st May at the Curzon Club.

The evening was hosted by Paul Treadgold with trophies presented by RDTTA Chairman, Derek Harrison.

Trophies were presented to members of those teams that won or were runners-up in each of the Divisions for the 2017/18 season, also to the event winners from the 2018 Reading Closed Championships and to winners and runners-up for each of the Special Competitions run throughout the season. (see the relevant pages on the website for details of these)

In addition, the following Awards were presented:

Reading Chronicle Trophy

- presented to the person who in the opinion of the organisers and the RDTTA committee produced the best performance at the Closed Championships.

This year it was presented to the person who put in the most effort over the course of the two days, the organiser.

Winner: Wendy Porter


Evening Post Trophy

- awarded to the person who in the opinion of the RDTTA Committee has been the Most Supportive Junior.

Winner: Jonathan Cross


John Freeman Trophy

- awarded to the player with the best playing record in the main divisions of the Reading League. (It must be someone who has played at least 75% of available matches.)

With an impeccable 100% record of 28 wins out of 28 contests in Division 1 ...

Winner: Daniel Moses


Standard Cup

- awarded to the person who in the opinion of the RDTTA Committee is the most improved Junior.

Having achieved 44% in Youth Division 1 this season, which was a similar percentage to that which he achieved in Division 2 a year ago, and giving good performances and many good wins when representing Reading in the National Junior League ...

Winner: Harry Bullock


Edelston Cup

- awarded for the best Junior performance.

This player is to be commended for his overall performance in the Reading Closed ...

Winner: Mo Cook


Alan Dines Memorial Trophy (presented by Alan's son, Kevin)

- awarded to the person the RDTTA Committee decides has made the best contribution to junior development.

For the help provided over the last 5-6 years, helping at Youth Division every week and running the sessions when Wendy Porter was absent  ...

Winner: Emma Barraclough


Harold Larcombe Sportsmanship Award

- awarded to the person who, in the opinion of their peers, has shown an excellent sporting demeanour at all times both on & off the table.

The unanimous decision of the RDTTA Committee was for a person who has shown these attributes over many years..

Winner: Ray Webb



Author: via Reading & District Table Tennis Association
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page