Llandudno Table Tennis League Week 28 News

News - week 28

In the league cup first division final, Amlwch A achieved a league and cup double winning the first six matches in their cup final against Trinity BKeith Williams was to taken to a fifth game decider by both Chris Phillips and Stuart DeardonReg John beat Chris in four and Paul Collins won both of his singles in three straight and when he repeated the feat in the doubles with the help of Keith the cup was heading back to Anglesey.
In the league cup second division final, Police B made a good start with Kevin Evans beating bothNorman Stagg and John Hughes in four games. Rhyl B fought back with Dave Foster andNorman Stagg getting the better of John Cartwright. However, Peter Roberts beat John Hughesand teamed up with Kevin Evans to land the doubles and give the Police B a 4-2 lead. Again Rhyl Bshowed their fighting qualities, John Hughes beat John Cartwright and in the closest encounter of the evening Dave Foster beat Peter Roberts 11-8 in the fifth to make it four all. Peter Robertswon another five game thriller at the expense of Norman Stagg and Kevin Evans secured the title for Police B beating Dave Foster in four ensuring that Rhyl B were the runners-up in both the second division league and the cup this season.
In the Presidents’ Trophy semi-final, Trinity C were set the task of restricting Rhyl C below a 23 point average in each encounter. Marcus Jones recorded  28, 29 and 25 points in his matches, but this was not enough leeway. Roy Williams, Fred Moore and Josh Gilmore representing Trinity C won the final by sixty-one points, winning all ten matches in the process.
In division two, fifth place Craig-y-don A beat sixth placed Denbigh B 8-2. Nigel Watson secured a maximum but was taken to 11-9 in the fifth by Don GriggIain MacGillivray beat Bill Williamsand Don Grigg beat Keith Potter to earn Denbigh B their two points.
League Cup – Division One Final:
Amlwch A                     6          Trinity B                       0
League Cup – Division Two Final:
Police B                        6          Rhyl B                          4
Presidents’ Trophy – Final:
Trinity C                          556      Rhyl C                       495
Division Two:
Craig-y-don A               8          Denbigh B                    2
Author: via Rhyl Community Table Tennis Club
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page