Llandudno Table Tennis League Week 9-11 News

News - week 9,10 & 11

In the first division, Trinity A lead Amlwch A by seven points and became the first team to beat Amlwch A in over ten years. In this clash between the top two Abhishek Bathula representing Trinity A proved the strongest player on the night securing a maximum dropping no games and became the first player to beat Keith Williams this season. He was ably supported by Stuart Dearden who beat Paul Collins and Ian Ault. Keith was also given a fright by Mathew Fox before coming from behind to win a five-game thriller 12-10. Amlwch A has a game in hand and remain favourites in the tightest title race in years. Behind the top two Police A lead the chasing pack, they beat Conwy B 7-3 here Mark Pugh won all his game without his own bat or trainers. They also powered past Trinity C, but without their talisman they lost 4-6 to Y Morfa A. The final game witnessed the captains Rob Stanway and Tony Wan in a titanic battle, that eventually went to Rob 17-15 in the fifth, and with it the match. Y Morfa Ahas improved in recent weeks, they also beat Trinity B, drew with Conwy A and achieved two points from the champions. Chris Henderson and Andy Horton became the first team to beat Amlwch A in doubles in recent memory. The Conwy derby proved a fantastic 9-1 win for Conwy B to complete the double for the season and to raise the question who are the A team in Conwy? Andy Lunt came from way back in the fifth against Melvyn Booker to prevent the whitewash.
In the second division, Rhyl B is three points clear with a game in hand having beatRhyl C and Craig-y-don A 7-3. John Hughes tops the individual standings having played most matches and he remains unbeaten. The leaders did drop their first doubles match of the season going down in three straight to Bill Williams and Nigel Watson.Amlwch C maintain the pressure at the top beating Y Morfa B 7-3 despite a fabulous maximum by Bill Wooley who represents Y Morfa B. The third and fourth teams Craig-y-don A and Police B crossed swords and another fine maximum from Nigel Watsonproved to be not enough. Peter Roberts and John Cartwright both won two, Nigel Mclaughlin one and Peter and Nigel landed the doubles.
Division One:
Y Morfa A                     5       Conwy A                       5
Police A                        7       Conwy B                       3
Trinity B                       4       Y Morfa A                     6
Amlwch B                     4       Conwy A                       6
Amlwch A                     4       Trinity A                       6
Police A                        4       Y Morfa A                     6
Y Morfa A                     2       Amlwch A                     8
Conwy B                       9       Conwy A                       1
Trinity C                       1       Police A                        9
Trinity A                       10     Rhyl A                           0
Division Two:
Craig-y-don A               4       Police B                        6
Amlwch C                     7       Y Morfa B                     3
Rhyl C                          3       Rhyl B                          7
Rhyl B                          7       Craig-y-don A               3
Author: via Rhyl Community Table Tennis Club
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page