Hi All,

There have been some mumblings about foul services - no-one is suggesting that this is being done on purpose to gain an advantage, but in some cases it does leave opponents at an unfair disadvantage.

The main problems seem to be players serving straight out of the hand, not throwing the ball up to the specified 16cm and as near vertical as possible.  Also, there have been occasions when players are shielding the ball from their opponent - unintentional I'm sure, but making it very difficult for the opponent as they cannot see the contact of the bat on the ball.  See 2.6.4 & 2.6.5,,  It is the player's responsibility to make sure the ball is visible to opponent and umpire throughout the serve.

Please may I ask you all to review your serving action to make sure you are complying with the following rules:

2.6 The Service

2.6.1 Service shall start with the ball resting freely on the open palm of the server's stationary free hand.

2.6.2 The server shall then project the ball near vertically upwards, without imparting spin, so that it rises at least 16cm (6.3 inches) after leaving the palm of the free hand and then falls without touching anything before being struck.

2.6.3 As the ball is falling the server shall strike it so that it touches first his court and then, after passing over or around the net assembly, touches directly the receiver's court; in doubles, the ball shall touch successively the right half court of server and receiver.

2.6.4 From the start of service until it is struck, the ball shall be above the level of the playing surface and behind the server's end line, and it shall not be hidden from the receiver by the server or his doubles partner and by anything they wear or carry.

2.6.5 As soon as the ball has been projected, the server’s free arm shall be removed from the space between the ball and the net.

Note: The space between the ball and the net is defined by the ball, the net and its indefinite upward extension.

2.6.6 It is the responsibility of the player to serve so that the umpire or the assistant umpire can be satisified that he complies with the requirements of the Laws, and either may decide that a service is incorrect. If either the umpire or the assistant umpire is not sure about the legality of a service he may, on the first occasion in a match, interrupt play and warn the server; but any subsequent service by that player or his doubles partner which is not clearly legal shall be considered incorrect. Any subsequent service of doubtful legality of that player or his doubles partner will result in a point to the receiver. Whenever there is a clear failure to comply with the requirements for a good service, no warning shall be given and the receiver shall score a point.

2.6.7 Exceptionally, the umpire may relax the requirements for a good service where he is satisfied that compliance is prevented by physical disability.

There is an interesting article about serving on the following link  -   http://www.allabouttabletennis.com/official-table-tennis-rules.html 

Best wishes,


Last Updated:
Share This Page
SGS Table Tennis Academy