Cup News

Cup News:  YG Zander beat Vale A in tense Ian McCarthy Shield Final 

This year saw history being made as YG Zander became the first winners of the Ian McCarthy Shield (formerly the Chairmans Cup) and are on their way to winning all 3 league competitions of the division 1 league championship, the Presidents Cup and they now hold Ian McCarthy Shield. It wasn't all plain sailing as Vale A put up a strong challenge winning the first 2 matches and almost snatched a third. There was a genuine tension in the encounter between the two teams and some terrific table tennis. The rock for Zander as he has been all season was Laikram Persaud who was unbeaten on the night.  Match of the final was Laikram's win over Doug Taucher 11-10 in the 5th set as the match was decided on the exciting "sudden death" rule where if the score reaches 10 all the next point decides the game. For Vale their surprise package was the the "evergreen" Ron Brown who will soon be 75 but managed to win the second match against Cain Fagan. 

6 of the 7 matches were filmed and can be seen by clicking here Wandsworth Table Tennis Channel on YouTube or go to the Gallery on this website



Match score: YG Zander beat Vale A 5 - 2. S Fagan vs A Sanders(+1) 5-11, 6-11, 11-10, 8-11. C Fagan vs R Brown (+5) 10-11, 7-11, 11-7, 4-11. L Persaud vs D Taucher (+2) 11-10, 5-11, 8-11, 11-10, 11-10. C Fagan vs A Sanders (+2) 5-11, 11-10, 11-7, 4-11, 11-8. S Fagan vs D Taucher (+1) 11-8, 11-7, 6-11, 11-5. L Persaud vs R Brown (+5) 11-10, 11-9, 5-11, 11-9. C Fagan vs D Taucher (+2) 11-8, 11-9, 11-10.

The Presidents Cup final is Thursday 4th April, being held at St Pauls TTC. 

Author: via Wandsworth & District Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Click for more information
Share This Page