Challenge Trophy Final

Sponsored by Harish Thakrar Ltd – Chartered Accountants and Statutory Auditors


WDHA Superkings (0) 457 v Wanderers E (150) 381


WDHA Superkings (0) 457:              Tarun Mistry 132/63, Dev Patel 132/60, Himanshu Ganatra 132/74

Wanderers E (150) 381:                     David May 66/132, Derek Shears 71/132, Steve Hoole 60/132

After last season’s excellent games which as a climax had a superb nail-biting final, it was almost inevitable that this season would prove a little bit of ‘after the Lord Mayors show’ and so it proved. Whilst the later rounds produced some close matches, WDHA Superkings, who finished runners-up in Division 2, gained fairly comfortable victories in both the semi-final and the final.

Wanderers E with 150 start payed surprisingly defensive and tended to treat the final as a League game instead of a cup-tie, with victory not required, only about 27 points.

In the first three games only Derek Shears looked at ease, taking 23 points off Dev Patel, however, David May and Steve Hoole, despite indulging in many long rallies, only managed 17 points each against Tarun Mistry and Himanshu Ganatra to give WDHA Superkings a flying start. The next 3 games were the best of the night for the Wanderers E side, all performing well, with Shears doing extremely well in going down 6-11, 10-11, 11-5, 11-9 to Ganatra. However their chances were down to almost zero as in the lowest aggregate of the night in game 7, Hoole managed to gain 15 points in a 4-11, 7-11, 1-11, and 3-11 defeat to Patel. May did well in gaining 27 points and whilst rank outsiders the match looked destined to go to the doubles which often throw up surprise results. Shears in game 9 needed 24 points to take the match to the doubles although the result would be a forgone conclusion unless a stunning victory achieved. Shears’ opening 3 legs gained 18 points but Mistry in an outstanding all round display whitewashed Shears in the 4th leg to gain victory.

The doubles was played and the biggest roar of the evening greeted May & Shears when they won their second leg 11-9 and shared an 11-10 victory in the 4th leg against Mistry and Ganatra.

Thanks to Alan Hill and Nigel Magee for all their help scoring the match and Deirdre Kiziak for supplying excellent  refreshments, and finally to Harish Thakrar Ltd for their sponsorship.

Photograph showing players from winning teams representing three of four Wellingborough & District Hindu Association teams who received awards on the night: WDHA Royals, WDHA Superkings and WDHA Challengers.

WDHA winners 2017-18

L-R Back row: Abin Islam, Daniel Bain, Jack Bain, Shyam Bavalia, representative of sponsor Harish Thakrar Ltd, Rod Smith, Kishan Mistry and Rahul Jethwa.

L-R Front row:  Tarun Mistry, Virat Patel, Hubert Malenda, Dev Patel and Himanshu Ganatra



Last Updated:
National #TableTennisDay
Share This Page