League Report 27-3-18

Premier Division


            Bridge A have won the Premier Division of the West Cornwall Table Tennis League for the fourth consecutive year, finishing their season in style beating rivals Falmouth Docks A 6,4. Docks A’s Mark Meijvis finished top of the averages only losing one match to Malcolm Peters 3,0. Mark picked up three of the four points for his team against Bridge, and the fourth was won by Jeremy Williams. For Bridge, Will Abouelhana, Dave Plumb and Kelly Reed all beat Paul Jenkin, with Will and Kelly beating Jeremy before teaming up to take the doubles point.

            Bridge A and Docks A both won their previous fixtures 8,2. Bridge played Docks C, with a team of Dave, Kelly and Awen McBride. Kelly and Awen dropped one singles point each to Liam Chinn and Jeremy Hartley respectively. Docks A played two man Mylor A, where Mylor’s Harry Stanbury beat Paul and Dave White beat Aiden Rollason. 

            Bridge B finished the season in third place, thrashing Docks B 10,0 and Mylor 9,1. Over the two matches, Austin Chapman, Malcolm Peters and Keith Swain were undefeated, with Steve Lobb losing just one point to Harry Stanbury. 

            Palace A won their final fixture of the season against Docks B 6,4. For Palace, Simon Jacobs won one, Kevin Fudge and Steve Hunt both won two and the pair won the doubles point to claim the win for their team. Joe Tuffery and Aiden Rollason picked up two points each for Docks.


First Division

                Mounts Bay A have won the first division title this season with a couple of games to spare after an 8,2 win against Penpol. Both Mark and Nigel Cock won all of their singles matches, and Rob Dyer won two, losing to Katie Rule in the fifth end of a tight match. Penpol's Andrew Nicholson and Adam Sparks won the doubles for their second point beating Mark and Nigel.

                Docks D finished their season in second position with a team of Jarvis Lee, Dylan Tynan, Josh Knight and Tom Stephens. The youngsters won their last two matches 7,3 against St Ives A and 8,2 against Mylor B. Jarvis Lee and Dylan Tynan both won six out of six, finishing their impressive seasons with averages of 91% and 78%. Andrew Tyson, Mark Burnell and David Smith all won one point for St Ives, and for Mylor, Ian Bell and Howard Baker picked up the two points.

                Bridge D finish the season in third place after beating Palace B 8,2 and hammering St Ives A 10,0. Simon Williams (Bridge) finished player of the match against Palace, winning his three matches. Paul Mallen won the two points for Palace B beating Bernard Harvey and Chris Solway.  Against St Ives, a team of Simon, Bernard and Nigel Tregenza took the 10 points, losing just three ends all evening.

                Mylor C suffered two defeats in their last two matches against two man team Penpol (7,3) and Palace B (8,2).  For Penpol, Andrew Nicholson and Adam Sparks were undefeated. For Mylor, Chris Buckingham picked up one singles point beating Palace B's Keith Mitchell. Mark Norcross and Sam Sloggett teamed up to beat Paul and Keith in the doubles for Mylor's second point.

Second Division

                With two games to go, Godolphin have already won the second division title, with a team of Curry Vincent, David Greenough and Barry Dunstan. Godolphin beat Mount Ambrose 6,4 and Cape Cornwall 7,3. For Mount Ambrose, Mike Kent showed his class winning his three singles before pairing up with Marcus Rogers to beat Curry and David in the doubles. Cape Cornwall's David May finished player of the match, beating Curry and David in five ends, and Barry in four.

                Docks E and Docks F are locked in battle for the promotion spot with just four points between them with two matches to play. Docks E, currently leading, suffered their second defeat of the season to Mounts Bay B 6,4. Jackie Rice and Howard Charman won the six points for their team, but lost to Dennis Williams and Chris Hocking in the doubles. Dennis, Chris and Ben Charity each picked up one singles point.  Docks E followed this with a 7,3 win against Mylor D. Blaise Hinshelwood filled in for Dennis, and he won player of the match winning his three. Ben and Chris both won two losing to Mylor's Yuki Reed, who teamed up with Christine Allen to win the doubles in the final end.

                Docks F have closed the gap on Docks E after thrashing Redruth Highway 9,1. Peter Gribble won Redruth Highway's only point, beating Roger Scorse.  Mounts Bay C were on form against Docks F beating them 7,3, with three wins for Sue West, two for John Holman and one for Peter Jackson. Harry Rose won five from six over the two matches and Brian Johnson won four.

                Docks H have had two strong performances beating Docks G 10,0 and Redruth Highway 6,4 despite only having two players.  Blaise Hinshelwood won six from six over both matches, Joe Crouse  five losing to Peter Gribble of Redruth, and Perry Oakes won three from three achieving player of the match against Docks G.

                Mounts Bay C beat Peoples Palace C 8,2. Both John Holman and Sue West won three points each and Peter Jackson one, losing to Mo Wills and Ian Marriott of Palace. Palace C followed this defeat with a draw against Mounts Bay B. David Matthew and Mo both won two matches, and Ian one. For Mounts Bay, Howard Charman won three and Chris Rodda one.

                Fourth placed Mount Ambrose beat Docks G 9,1 with Dave Hatcher beating Marcus Rogers to pick up the only point for Docks.

                Mylor D defeated Cape Cornwall 6,4. For Mylor, Christine Allen, Nigel and Yuki Reed all won two points but lost to the experienced David May, with Yuki taking him to a fifth end.  Cape Cornwall won the doubles in a five end battle beating Nigel and Christine.

Author: via West Cornwall Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Magnificent 7
Share This Page