23rd November 2012


 23rd November 2012

Leamington Veterans A overwhelmed Birmingham A in the Midland Veterans Division 1 at the weekend. Mark Jackson and Phil Paine were invincible and Earl Sweeney only lost once, nabbing the doubles with Jackson.

9th placed Wellesbourne crushed 6th placed WCC B 9-1 in Division 1, Alan Cotton and Gary Stewart taking trebles and John Price two. Struggling St. Georges A did themselves a power of good with a draw against their C team who sit 5th. Debutants Nigel Metcalf (3) and Ben Tombs (2) scored for C. Earl Sweeney’s brace allied to singles from Damon Fenton and Matt Jordan plus a Sweeney/Jordan doubles success tied the match. Colebridge B lifted themselves to 8th with a 6-4 victory over Rugby B. Vikas Bakshi, John Chandler and Mike Rinnhofer all won twice with Ryan Lines emulating them for the visitors.

Other results: St Georges B 7 (Mark Jackson 3, Matt Man 3 +D) Wellesbourne 3 (Pete Dunnett 1, Price 1, Stewart 1); WCC B 3 (Simon Griew 2, Murray Stevenson 1) Colebridge A 7 (Ian Ferguson 3, Alan Hewitt 2, Kate Hughes 1 +D).

Paul Calloway’s excellent hat-trick in Division 2 for Phoenix failed to land the spoils against Nomads A who triumphed 6-4 thanks mainly to doubles from Ian Beasley and Andy Davies. The bottom two teams both had welcome draws. Free Church C drew with Nomads A with Sol Hayes and Martyn Todd taking twos plus the doubles. Tony Thomas’s treble averted defeat for Nomads. St. Georges E drew with their D team thanks to a sparkling triple from Andy Caine, who was well supported by Rob Warnes (2). Kevin Finn (2), Brian Aston (1) and William Fletcher (1) plus the doubles ensured stalemate. Eathorpe A also drew against Whitnash A, for whom Paul Riman was unbeaten. The villagers replied with twosomes from George Allison and Pete Titmas and a single from Chris Atkins. Enigmas soared up the table after squeezing out Free Church D 6-4. Steve Proctor and Dong Wei both won twice, Malc MacFarlane once and they took the doubles. Timmy Cooper and Roald Myers bagged braces in response.

Snitterfield A are the early season favourites in Division 3 and whitewashed struggling Free Church F 10-0. Stuart Ayres, Tim Fell and Rob Poole racked up the points. Second placed Free Church E stumbled against WCC C who forced a draw. Kim Wong and John Taylor took two apiece and Chris Blowey one but Council stormed back through Mark Freeman (2), Cliff Jackson (2) and the doubles. Flavels trounced Nomads C 9-1 with Mick Bennett and Trevor Bradley taking threes. Newcomer Steve Lyons notched two and Roger Potts joined Bradley for the doubles.

Other results: Nomads C 3 (Christian McMorran 2, Richard Miles 1) Snitterfield A 7 (Rob Poole 3, Stuart Ayres 2, Dave Milton 1 +D) ; Nomads B 5 (Steve Poole 2, Ian Stevens 2, Darren Hadley 1) Free Church G 5 (Sam Wiggins 2, Julie Richardson 1, Dudley Turner 1 +D); FC H 6 (Harry Purewal 2, Kit Turner 2, Andrew McILvaney 1 +D) Nomads B 4 (Ian Stevens 3, Steve Poole 1).

Free Church J top the 4th Division after taking 7 points from WCC D. Tom Harris’s hat-trick was added to by a double from Adam Cofler, a single from Adam Pulman and a Harris/Pulman doubles. Mark Bridgeman had 2 wins for Council and Carl Morgan took one. Free Church I are second but were made to work by Ashorne A who only went down 6-4. Sam Weaving maintained his 100% record and Ben Haigh (2) and Josh Wyatt-smith added to the tally with Steve Bolton, Chris Bowles and Roger Kelley all taking one plus the doubles. Other results: Free Church J 7 (Harris 3, Roger Palmer 2, Adam Pulman 1 +D) Ashorne A 3 (Bolton 1, Bowles 1, Kelley 1); Rugby E 2 (Emma Kilpatrick 2) Free Church I 8 (Weaving 3, Haigh 2, Wyatt-Smith 2 +D); FC K 2 (Jack Green 1, Chris Soe 1) Ashorne A 8 (Kelley 3, Bolton 2, Bowles 2 +D);

Free Church M did their hopes of averting relegation from Division A a power of good when disposing of FISCC 4-1. Matt Scott won twice, Ben King once and the pair took the doubles.

Other result: FC L 5 (Keith Knott 2, Tony Williams 2 +D) FC M 0.

Topspinners are looking at the Division B title after taking all 5 points from St. Georges F. Bradley Matthews and Russell Smith gave no quarter. Free Church N also took maximum points against their O team, Tom Fletcher and Jay Virdi taking the singles and James Robertson joining Virdi for the doubles.

Other results: St.Georges F 0 Eathorpe D 5 (John Ablett 2, Jon Ablett 2 +D); Eathorpe E 0 Topspinners 5 (Matthews 2, Smith 2 +D).

In Division D Eathorpe G kept alive promotion hopes with a 4-1 drubbing of FC U. Leonardo Varga-Elmiyeh (2), Jamie Sayer 1 plus the doubles wrapped up the points. Daniel Robinson notched a good consolation.

Author: via Leamington Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Share This Page