7th December 2012


 7th December 2012


Lillington Free Church TTC maintained their grip on Division 1 of the National Junior League on Day 2 at Wellingborough. Solomon Hayes, Timmy Cooper and Lee Dorning defeated Sycamore of Nottingham 6-0, Draycott (Long Eaton) and Harborough 5-1, Knighton Park( Leicester) 4-2 and drew with Bedford A 3-3. All 3 youngsters won vital pressure matches during the day with Cooper returning a 100% record to keep Church top by 7 points.

In the League there are also runaway leaders in Division 1 where Rugby A have opened up a 17 point gap over Colebridge A. Their latest triumph was a 10-0 drubbing of St. Georges C with Jesse Kendrick-Hill, Matthew Outhwaite and Adrian Pilgrim in starring roles. Free Church A moved up to mid-table respectability with an 8-2 success over Colebridge B. Deepak Chandrababu and Luke Hobbins claimed hat-tricks and Tom Brocklehurst notched two.

Enigmas have crept up to second almost unnoticed in Division 2 and eased their way past Eathorpe A 6-4 with Gary Jackson, Malc MacFarlane and Steve Proctor all tasting victory twice. In turn Eathorpe A moved up to 8th with a cracking 6-4 success over Phoenix. Young George Allison starred with a treble and a doubles win. Paul Riman won his three for Whitnash A but his side lost 4-6 to St.Georges D for whom Kevin Finn and William Fletcher recorded braces.

Other result: St. Georges D 5 (Finn 2, Fletcher 1, Jimmy Pittaway 1 +D) Phoenix 5 (Paul Calloway 3, Richard Jardim 2)

Free Church G fielded a last minute reserve against Rugby D in 15 year old Sam Weaver who made a memorable division 3 debut with a triple and a share in the doubles. With Sam Wiggins winning twice and Dudley Turner once, G took 7 points. However, G were on the receiving end as they went down 8-2 to Flavels for whom Trevor Bradley and Mick Bennett were unbeaten. Snitterfield A have a commanding lead in this flight and trounced WCC C 8-2 with Tim Fell taking his three. Second spot is filled by FC E who beat Nomads B 9-1( Chris Blowey 3, Kim Wong 3, John Taylor 2).

Fc J sit at the top of Division 4. Adam Cofler and Tom Harris both contributed maximums as they beat Rugby E 8-2. Free Church I, who are second, roasted 3rd placed Eathorpe B 8-2 with Joe Hunt and Sam Weaving unbeatable. Eathorpe bounced back with a 7-3 win over WCC D thanks mainly to Sophie Cooper’s hat-trick.

Free Church L enjoy a massive 17 point cushion at the top of Division A and defeated Ashorne B 4-1 with Tony Williams winning two and the doubles. Eathorpe C are second and beat FISCC 4-1. Dave Hawker was in sparkling form bagging two and the doubles.

Other result: FC M 2 (Matt Scott 1, Charlie Snelson 1) Eathorpe C 3 (Richard Freeman 1, Hawker 1 +D).

Top team Eathorpe D were surprisingly beaten in Division B by FC N 3-2 for whom Jay Virdi nailed 3 points but John and Jon Ablett, who both won once, should lift the title, especially as their E team lowered FC N’s colours 3-2 with James Keay featuring in all 3 points. Free Church O enjoyed their first victory of the season, accounting for St. Georges F 3-2. All the players won once with Ashley and Jeremy Knott defeating Kevin Rose and Alex Wright to give Church success.

In Division D FC T have their eyes on promotion and Leyna Stanton and Alice Todd comfortably beat FC U 5-0.

Author: via Leamington Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Share This Page