Observer 01-04-16

Hollington Academy A returned to form  in Division 1 of the Hastings & District Table Tennis League with a 9-1 win over Tigers A when they had Paul Barry and Basher Obeyed unbeaten and two wins from Andy Furnival.  In-form Tony Catt took Tigers’ consolation with a win over Furnival which went to 14-12 in the decider.

Bexhill A beat Bexhill B 8-2 with a maximum from Lewis Mayhew and two wins each for Bob Lowe and Tina Beaney.

Unbeaten Graham Gillett led Bexhill C to a 6-4 over Hollington Academy C which was remarkable for the number of marathon sets, mostly involving Academy’s Will Goodstone. Nick Standen won two for the losers.

Maximums from Jamie Martin and Robin Gibbs and two wins for Ryan Heselden saw Hollington Academy B home 9-1 against Tackleway C.


In Division 2, leaders Bexhill D dismissed Hollington A 10-0 with maximums from their trio of Brian Beaney, John Bradbury and Trevor Towner. 

Nearest challengers Tackleway D edged out rivals Saints C  6-4 with two wins each for Alan Blackman and Sue Pingram, despite an inspired unbeaten performance from Andy Syrett.

Tigers B had an 8-2 win over Bexhill E with three wins for Chris Woods and two apiece for Rama Patel and Roger Smith. Five sets went to a fifth game and Tigers were successful in all five.


In Division 3, Hollington D (Ryan Demeza, Kieran Gibbs and Yasar Akar) had a convincing 10-0 win over Tigers D, who came closest to picking up a set in a five-game doubles defeat.

Near the foot of the table, a spirited performance by two-man NALGO B saw them snatch a 6-4 win at Hollington C with three wins for Ron Spencer and two for Eric Cruttenden.

Bottom side McPhersons, despite another maximum from Peter Watters, went down 7-3 to the superior team work of Tackleway G’s Douglas Bick, Stephen Milton and Kevin Eastman, who all won twice.

Monarchs maintained their challenge at the top with an 8-2 win over Hollington B in which Peter Harding was unbeaten and Andrew Edwards and Dave Turnbull won two. Amelia Long won two for Hollington, both five-setters.

Author: via Hastings Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page