Observer 27-10-17

In Division One of the Hastings & District Table Tennis League, Tackleway C fought out a 5-5 draw with Bexhill B with Roger Pingram winning twice for Tackleway as did Yotza Krstic and Andy Summers for Bexhill. At 3-3, Bexhill seemed to take control by winning the next two singles before Pingram beat Summers in five games and Danny Rickaby beat Krstic by the same margin.

Tackleway A gained their first win, beating Bexhill G 8-2 with Roy Funnell unbeaten and Mike Funnell and Sue Pingram winning two each. Kevin McEwan won twice for the losers.

Both leading teams dropped points as Hollington Academy A beat Academy B 6-4 with a Paul Barry maximum and two from Basher Obeyed while Tony Catt won two for the B side. Despite leading 4-1, Academy A needed the win for Barry over Sheila King in the last match.

Second placed Saints A trailed 0-3 at Bexhill C before levelling at 5-5 with two wins apiece for Dave Butler and James Winchester (Saints) and Graham Gillett and John Wilson (Bexhill). Wilson beat Butler 12-10 in the 5th game before going down to Winchester 11-13, also in the decider.


In Division Two, Tackleway E made a belated start to the season with a  7-3 win at Hollington Academy E with Dave Wilson unbeaten and Peter Wilson winning two. Kevin Barry won twice for the losers.

Paul Hyland’s maximum was not enough for NALGO A, who went down 6-4 to Bexhill E who had two wins each for Tina Beaney, Pam Winter and PaulWelford.

Maximums from John Bradbury and Trevor Towner saw Bexhill D home 8-2 against Hollington B.

Bexhill F won 7-3 at Hollington A, who were without Shaun Godfrey. Frank Brown won three and Diane Webb two for Bexhill, while Steph Sargeant won two for the losers.


Bexhill I are early pacesetters in Division Three and maximums for Malcolm Hilton and Jim Leppard helped them to a 7-3 win at Tigers B.

Hollington E have also started well and they won 9-1 at Hollington C with three wins for Rob Clemence and Neil Pankhurst and two for Trevor Fountain.


Zac Allen was unbeaten for Tackleway G but two wins each for Barry Turnwell, Phil Bailey and Ken McEwan meant Willett & Phillips won 7-3.

Author: via Hastings Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page