Observer 27-04-18

Hollington Academy A retained the Division One title in the Hastings & District Table Tennis League with a routine 10-0 dismissal of mid-table Tackleway A.

Paul Barry, Nathan Darby and Basher Obeyed were in command throughout, apart from the fifth set where Tackleway’s Roy Funnell came from 0-2 down to take Barry to what proved to be a one-sided decider.

This made Bexhill A’s final match against Bexhill C a dead rubber which resulted in a 5-5 draw. David Rayment was unbeaten for the A side who also had two wins from Lewis Mayhew while Graham Gillett won twice for the C team.

Bexhill G helped their survival effort with a 6-4 win at Tackleway B with Kevin McEwan and Ryan Heselden unbeaten but this was matched by Tackleway C’s 7-3 defeat of Saints B. A maximum for Roger Pingram and two wins for Kevin Rowe saw Tackleway home despite Ron davenport’s two for the losers.

With one match each to play Tackleway C trail Bexhill G by three points.


Hollington E clinched the Division Three title with a 6-4 win over rivals Tackleway F when Rob Clemence won three and Neil Pankhurst two. Kevin Bignell won two for Tackleway who need at least a draw with Hollington C to squeeze out Bexhill I for second place.

Willett & Phillips beat Hollington D 6-4 with two wins each for Phil Bailey and Ken McEwan, while Yasar Akar notched another maximum for Hollington.


In Division Two, Tigers A confirmed their second place with an 8-2 win over Monarchs A in which Chris Woods won three and Roger Smith and Dave Mitchell both won two.

Bexhill H eased their problems with a 7-3 win at Tackleway E. Dan Starnes was unbeaten for Bexhill with Dom Goodson and Baz Goodson winning two, as did Peter Wilson for the losers.

Bexhill F dropped a place after their 8-2 defeat against Tackleway D. Keith Lindsay won three for Tackleway who had two wins from Owen Hatter and Alan Blackman while Harvey Webb won two for Bexhill.

Author: via Hastings Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page