Llandudno Table Tennis League Week 27 News

Our A Team finished their Division 1 campaign in 9th position but the second half of the season has shown much improvement in what was a new team this season. Our C Team finished their Division 2 campaign in 9th place but year on year have more than doubled their points tally from last year and reached the final of the Presidents H'Cap Trophy. Its our B Team that have shone this season. Narrowingly being pipped to 2nd place in Division 2 by Trinity C but also have reached the finals of the Division 2 Cup & the Leagues Handicap Cup Final. Well done to all 3 teams this season and our future is looking bright for the 2018/19 campaign.



News - week 27

In the Presidents’ Trophy semi-final, Trinity C had to keep Craig-y-don A below thirty-five points to overcome the handicap. Trinity C were able to ensure in the majority of the matches they kept their opponents in the twenties. Roy Williams, Josh Gilmore and Fred Moore will now face Rhyl C in the final with Amlwch C unable to field a full team.
In the first division, runners-up Trinity A were unable to fulfil their finsl two fixtures due to examination commitments and this enabled Amlwch A to win the league by thirty-nine points. The champions won the island derby 8-2, the C team captain Matthew Winnett played for the A team and he was able to beat Claire Brewster 11-8 in the fifth. Paul Colllins won his three to finish runner in the individual standings with Keith Willimas remaining unbeaten and topping the division one individual honours. Police A were able to secure third position dispute losing 4-6 to fourth placed Y MorfaAndy Horton was the strongest player on the night securing a maximum and Chris Henderson played some of his best table tennis of the season to beat Thomas au Yeung in four andRoger Lee in five before narrowly losing out to James Wan 11-13 in the fifth in his quest for a maximum. Conwy A beat Trinity B 6-4 ensuring they finished above Conwy BGraham Heath won all his three, making him the strongest player at the Conwy club this season. Stuart Deardenrepresenting Trinity B was able to beat both Steve Nicholls and Andy Lunt. However he was unable  to make any impact in the doubles where Rob Walker made an appearance to support Graham and they ran out winners in three straight games to land the match. The double honours in the division go to champions Amlwch A who only lost one dobles match during the season.
In the second division, Trinity C are champions by six points despite runners-up Rhyl B beating fourth placed Craig-y-don B 10-0. The only point dropped by the top two in three matches this week was a win for Ady Waugh representing Craig-y-don B beating Trinity C’s Fred Moore in three straight. Police B finished third following an 8-2 victory over Amlwch CPeter Roberts tops the individual standings but was beaten for the second time this season in the league when Caren Aultbeat him 12-10 in the fifth game decider. She also teamed up with her captain Matthew Winnett to land the islanders a second point in another five-game thriller. The doubles honours in the division go to champions Trinity C who won fourteen of their sixteen doubles encounters.
Presidents’ Trophy – semi-finals:
Trinity C                       475      Craig-y-don A               418
Rhyl C                          Won     Amlwch C                     Default
Division One:
Police A                        4          Y Morfa                        6
Conwy A                       6          Trinity B                       4
Amlwch B                     2          Amlwch A                     8
Trinity A                    Default     Amlwch A                   Won
Police A                       Won        Trinity A                    Default
Division Two:
Craig-y-don B               1          Trinity C                       9
Trinity C                       10        Rhyl C                          0
Rhyl B                          10        Craig-y-don B               0
Police B                         8          Amlwch C                     2
Author: via Rhyl Community Table Tennis Club
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page