North Confined 2018 - Results


The ADTTA North Confined Table Tennis Championships took place on Saturday, 5th May with more than 60 players turning up on the day to take part in 3 main competition and 7 age categories.


In order to let our players enjoy table tennis at the level similar to their abilities, ADTTA Committee decided to run three separate events this year. Top 8 players entered Restricted Singles event; AU Singles was addressed to lower first division/higher second division players and all other players entered the Watt Cup. All three events started from groups, progressing to KO stages. Apart from these 3 events, North Confined 2018 comprised of age restricted categorises such as: Primary Schools Singles, Under 13 Singles, Under 15 Singles, Under 18 Singles, Over 40 Singles, Over 60 Singles and Evergreen Doubles.


Restricted Singles runner up Andrew McRae with winner Yifei Fang

Restricted Singles runner up Andrew McRae with winner Yifei Fang

Restricted Singles event started of with 2 groups of 4 with two players from each group progressing to the KO stage. Ross Martin won the first group and Andrew McRae won the second, beating Yifei Fang in the process. Despite a very good start at the group stage, Ross Martin lost a semi-final to a gp. 2 runner-up Yifei Fang who clearly started gaining momentum at this point. In the other semi-final Andrew McRae recorded a straight 3-0 victory over Craig Cummine. Therefore Andrew and Yifei met again in the final but this time Yifei proved to be better, beating Andrew 3:1.

Great to see young players winning the day. Both Yifei and Andrew presented an outstanding table tennis, overcaming far more experienced players on the way to the final. It's worth to notice Yifei was the only on who managed to defeat Ross Martin during the entire North Confined event.

In AU Open tournament Andrzej Frandzelski had only one slip which happened at the group stage when Dick Ferro got the better of him in a very close match (10, 7, -7, 11). Thanks to his unique style, skilful use of anti spin rubber and particularly good performance on the day, Andrzej  was not to be stopped on his way to the title. He beat Jonny Gordon, Yaser Qureshi, Ikenna Asogwa and his teammate Gregor Ksiazek. In the final Josef Bokedal put a good fight and brought Andrzej to the 5th but Andrzej prevailed. For Josef the day only started as he proved his worth claiming the title in the Under 15 Singles and Under 18 Singles as well!

It's interesting to notice that both of the finalists were seeded second in their respective groups. Also, both progressed to the KO stage as runner-ups. On the other hand, 2 group winners were eliminated in quarter finals and the remaining 2 were stopped in the semis.

AU Open runner up Josef Bokedal and winner Andrzej Frandzelski

AU Open runner up Josef Bokedal and winner Andrzej Frandzelski

Watt Cup finalists Neil and Louis

Watt Cup runner up Neil Paterson and winner Louis Loi

Watt Cup started of with 4 groups of 4 in exactly the same format as AU Open. Out of 16 participants all together, one of the youngest and a promising Table Tennis Academy player Louis Loi claimed the title. Similarly to Restricted Singles event, Louis met his co-finalist Neil Paterson during group stage and lost this encounter 11-8 in the 5th.  Louis had his revenge, beating Neil 3:1 in the final. Louis performed very well throughout the day, winning Under 13 Singles in the afternoon.


Neil Paterson was a serious contender for a Watt Cup title. After beating Louis at the early stage of the competition (5th end), he was very much in control during other encounters, outmanoeuvring Aaron Robertson and Doug Seller 3:0 as well as Dave Curry 3:1.  He fought well in the final but Louis's training kicked in and the match was settled in the 4th end.


Primary Schools Singles were dominated by Jonathan Pan who came undefeated throughout the event, meeting Harry Blackhall in the final. Jonathan's brother Nathan nearly stopped him in the semis but Jonathan powered through the 5th set winning it 11:7. In Under 13 Louis Loi proved to be the best out of 7 contestants, beating Daniel Tibbetts in the final. Under 15 Singles were won by Josef Bokedal who just managed to get the better of Andrew Nimmo in a final which could easily go the other way round. Andrew took first 2 games and was close to complete the task in the 3rd (-8, -10, 8, 5, 9). Under 18 Singles were played as a round robin with 6 players all together. Josef Bokedal triumphed again, maintaining a clean 5-0 record. Andrew Nimmo came second with 4 wins and Isla Stott came third, having 3 wins and 2 defeats.

Over 40 Singles were like walk in the park for Ross Martin - he never lost a single end. John Aderson, the other finalist, showed his skills beating Ikkena Asogwa 3:1 and defeating Dennis Oon 11:9 in the 5th. Over 60 Singles were well attended with 9 contestants all together. Doug Seller and Brian Robertson met in the final. Things got off well for Dough who controlled the game in early stages, leading 2 games to 1. Despite being ahead of Brian in the 4th, he lost that game 11:9 and the lost 5th game 11:6. Evergreen Doubles event had three competing teams. Charlie Jamieson & Graham Burns claimed the title while John Dickie & Robin Bowden came second.


Many thanks to Alison Woods who collated all results for us. The excel spreadsheet with Roll of Honour and all individual match scores can be downloaded by clicking link provided below:

North Confined 2018 - Full Results


Also for those who are interested, a summary report from the event is available on Ratings Central web page:

North Confined 2018 (Rating Central)


North Confined 2018 finalists

From left to right: Primary Schools runner up Harry Blackhall with winner Jonathan Pan, U13 runner up Daniel Tibbetts with winner Louis Loi, U18 runner up Andrew Nimmo with winner Josef Bokedal, Robbie Martin with Veteran 40+ Champion Ross Martin.




Author: via Aberdeen & District Table Tennis Association
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page