Individual Handicap

This is a Handicap event with capacity for a maximum of 40 players - entries are first come, first served.


2017/18 Tournament

This season's tournament will be held on Sunday 7th January 2018 at Kingfisher Table Tennis Club.

Entries are now open via an online process - please read the following.


Online Entry - Register

Before you can enter you will need to create a 'Tournament Software' user account which must include the following details: your name, email address, phone number, gender, date of birth, Club and TTE membership number (aka Member ID).

Once this registration process has been completed you will be able to enter the tournament, via the Tournament Software website for the RDTTA Individual Handicap 2018. (You will also be able to enter any future RDTTA tournaments via this route.)

Note: anyone who entered last season's Reading Closed will already have completed this registration so can login to their existing Tournament Software account.


By entering this tournament you agree to the following:

You are aware of and accept the Regulations for this tournament.

(see the Regulations page within the Tournament Software site for the RDTTA Individual Handicap 2018)


If you have any problem registering, please contact me by email or text.

If you know of anyone who wants to enter but is unable to register or does not use email, please could you assist them to enter.


TTE Membership Number

You will need your TTE membership number to enter. LINK: LOOK HERE to check yours.


Tournament Entry

LINK: Register & enter the Reading Individual Handicap 2017/18 


Reporting Time

Once the entry is complete and the draw has been made an email will be sent to all entrants informing them of their reporting time.

If you do not receive details of your reporting time by 15th December, please contact me.


I look forward to seeing you for a great day's table tennis.


Wendy Porter, Event Organiser


Mobile: 07745 331743 (text)


2016/17 Tournament

The 2016/17 tournament was held on Saturday 21st January 2017 at the Kingfisher Table Tennis Club.


The event started 30 minutes late, due to really bad, icy conditions that morning and to allow for latecomers who hadn't paid attention to the time they were told to report.  Some didn't as they thought they didn't need to arrive until the time of their first match. (If everyone had done this, there would have been no-one to umpire the first set of matches!)

One reserve stepped in to replace a late withdrawal and another arrived at very late notice to take the place of a "no show", so the full complement of 40 players enjoyed a full day's play through to the presentation at 5:40pm.

The 8 round-robin groups each produced a clear winner who went through to the knock-out quarter-finals. After some closely contested semi-finals the final was between two OLOP players, Felix Thomis (of Division 1) and Tamir Slobodskoy (of Division 4), but it was the lower ranked player who ran out winner.



Entry for this season's tournament was done online, using Doodle Poll which seemed to go down well.  The Tournament itself was run using a new piece of software "Tournament Planner" and it's online equivalent "Tournament Software" which enabled the match results to be published online throughout the day as the tournament progressed.  This allowed many players to use their smartphones to check the results. group standings and the knock-out draws as the day went on.

If anyone who took part has any comments on the tournament or how it was run, please email

Many thanks to Wendy Porter who ran the event on the day and managed to get her head around using the new software.

2015/16 Tournament 

Round 1:

Group 1 : John Upham 2 wins, Alan Goold 2 both qualified; Paul Treadgold 1, Eric Holmes 1.

Group 2 : Joe Barraclough 1 win, Luca Bianchi 1 both qualified; Krys Szczygiel 1.

Group 3 : Wendy Porter 3 wins, Andrew Adair 2 both qualified; Denise Weller 1, Gwynne Penny 0.

Group 4 : Thomas Perkins 2 wins, Jarek Chmielowiec 2 both qualified: David Joyce 1, Ania Pytka 1.

Group 5 : Richard Witt 3 wins, Carl Edlind 2 both qualified; Derek Wavell 1, Keith Greene 0.

Group 6 : Mark Edwards 2 wins qualified; Joe Bull 1, John Evans 0.

Group 7 : Zoltan Kelemen 2 wins qualified; Tony Hayden 1, Jim McClure 0.

Round 2:

Group A : Luca Bianchi 2 wins, John Upham 1, Richard Witt 0.

Group B : Jor Barraclough 2 wins, Andrew Adair 1, Mark Edwards 0.

Group C : Jarek Chmielowiec 2 wins, Wendy Porter 1, Zoltan Kelemen 0.

Group D : Thomas Perkins 2 wins, Carl Edlind 1, Alan Goold 0.


Luca Bianchi bt Thomas Perkins 17-21, 21-15, 21-15.

Joe Barraclough bt Jarek Chmielowiec 11-21, 21-11, 21-16.


Joe Barraclough bt Luca Bianchi 21-7, 21-18.





Last Updated:
Share This Page