Press Reports 2018/19

Press 01 -  September 2018

Many clubs would welcome additional players – contact Nigel Maltby at who can put you in touch with a team / club in your area. Also there is plenty of room for more junior players in the Youth League on Friday evenings. Anyone interested in that can contact Wendy Porter at  



Press Reports 2017/18

Press 30 -  15th April 2018

Our Lady of Peace B  won the Team Handicap competition, retaining the trophy they won as OLOP E the previous season. In yet another tight match that required a final set decider, Reading FC A just missed out for a second successive season. Reading FC got off to a flying start with Antony Alleyne inflicting a first competition defeat on Hari Laddunuri in set one. Captain Richard Witt then doubled Reading’s lead beating Pradeep Desh in three games, before Abhay Gore also unbeaten in the competition, pulled a set back with victory over Paul Brown. Set seven saw Paul put Reading 4-3 up, and in sight of the winning post, with a hard fought 21-23, 21-17, 21-18 win over Pradeep. Set eight, with Antony and Abhay, both looking to secure maximums on the night, then saw Abhay and OLOP pull the match back to 4-4. Everything had come down to whether Richard could overcome a five point deficit to Hari. Despite losing the first game Hari squared it at one game all, before getting off to a flier in the deciding game and holding on the secure the match and trophy for Our Lady of Peace. 

Our Lady of Peace  added the Lower Divisions knock out trophy to the Team handicap trophy they won a week earlier. The four player format for Our Lady of Peace D of Binit Bhaskar, Pradeep Desh, Abhay Gore and Pat Daniels defeated the Curzon Club C trio of Linda King, John Walker and Charlotte Binley by six sets to three.  From three sets each, OLOP’s predominately attacking game became harder for Curzon to contain giving OLOP the edge and ultimately the match in set eight. Set nine matched two unbeaten pairings on the night, and it was Abhay and Pradeep who secured their maximum with an 11-9, 11-9 victory over John and Charlotte. Abhay would thereby end the season unbeaten in the finals of both team competitions.     


Last Updated:
Share This Page